The village, at 1210 m above sea level, is 82 km from L'Aquila. It stands on a rocky outcrop at the beginning of the Valle del Giovenco where the river of the same name has its sources, at the foot of the Gruppo della Montagna Grande. A village of ancient origin, it is in a strategic position for the observation and control of the valley, which has always represented one of the most important ways of penetrating the internal Marsica. The present country was formed starting from the XI-XII centuries following the phenomenon of the fortification. Located at the northern end of the Abruzzo National Park, it is home to the chamois wildlife area. The current town rises on the ruins of the Marsico Castle of Visinio, destroyed by Valerio Massimo. It was a fief of the Piccolomini and the Counts of Celano. Severely damaged by the earthquake of 1915, currently it preserves some artistic and historical reasons but it is above all a starting point for numerous itineraries that take visitors to discover the greenest area of Abruzzo.