It is situated on the path that connects the two villages of Paganica and Camarda, on the road that from L'Aquila goes up to the Gran Sasso, in a suggestive position inside a gorge. Its construction dates back to the 13th century following the presumed vision of Our Lady of Sorrows with the dead Christ in her womb by a local woman, the shepherdess Maddalena Chiaravalle.
Inside the Shrine of Manoppello is enclosed, in a case, what is recognized as the true Face of Jesus Christ. A legend tells that in 1506 a pilgrim presented himself to the physicist Giacomo Antonio Leonelli and gave him the precious gift.
The Church of San Francesco, in the center of Lanciano, was built in 1258 in the Burgundian-Romanesque style on the site of the Church of San Legonziano (VII / VIII century); it was rebuilt in baroque style around the middle of the 18th century. Today, after the restoration in 2000, it presents itself with its solemn eighteenth-century configuration. The facade is rectangular with squared stones; the bell tower, the oldest in the city, is 31 meters high.
On the slopes of Mount Picca there is the charming village of Pescosansonesco, where the Sanctuary dedicated to the Blessed Nunzio was built, a boy born of a humble family in 1817; Being an orphan, he was raised by his grandmother, then by an uncle, despite being well built, led him to the hard work as a blacksmith. Because of the privations and ill-treatment, the boy, injured in an ankle, became ill with bone decay and soon an incurable wound covered his foot.