The Church of San Francesco, in the center of Lanciano, was built in 1258 in the Burgundian-Romanesque style on the site of the Church of San Legonziano (VII / VIII century); it was rebuilt in baroque style around the middle of the 18th century. Today, after the restoration in 2000, it presents itself with its solemn eighteenth-century configuration. The facade is rectangular with squared stones; the bell tower, the oldest in the city, is 31 meters high.
On the slopes of Mount Picca there is the charming village of Pescosansonesco, where the Sanctuary dedicated to the Blessed Nunzio was built, a boy born of a humble family in 1817; Being an orphan, he was raised by his grandmother, then by an uncle, despite being well built, led him to the hard work as a blacksmith. Because of the privations and ill-treatment, the boy, injured in an ankle, became ill with bone decay and soon an incurable wound covered his foot.