The Archaeological Civic Museum of Collelongo, housed since 1985 in Palazzo Botticelli, preserves and exhibits numerous precious finds dating from the sixth century BC to the first century AD found in the Italic-Roman settlement of the nearby valley of Amplero, which consists of an acropolis, a village and two necropolises.
The MOM - Museum of the Marsican Bear - housed in a wing of the former convent of St. Anthony in the Municipality of Palena, consists of 5 sections set up with panels, dioramas and a striking reconstruction of the forest at night. The exhibition rooms describe the biological characteristics and life habits of the placid plantigrade, without neglecting mythology and history, and conclude with issues related to the risk of extinction and projects for the protection and preservation of the bear.
In the premises of the former Municipal Slaughterhouse of Avezzano was established the first Municipal Museum Pole of the city that currently includes: "The Words of Stone" and the Museum of the Drying of the Fucino "The Water Thread", first fundamental pieces of the extensive project of "The Hague of Museums" which represents an important cultural moment for the city of Marsica, with the contextual recovery and redevelopment of a disused area of its urban fabric.
Casalincontrada, a small town near the Majella National Park, has an extraordinary heritage of raw earth houses, rural houses built with the technique of the "Mason", a simple mixture of straw, water and earth. These houses, in addition to being precious testimonies of rural civilization, have attracted the attention of all those scholars and technicians in search of new and more natural building techniques. Thus the City has established this "Museum" unique in its kind, namely a permanent exhibition on the houses of Earth.
The "Federico Spoltore" Museum, recognized by the Abruzzo Region in 2001, documents the cultural and artistic experience of Federico Spoltore. To the furniture and art objects already owned by the Spoltore family, were added the most significant works of the painter who saw the light and worked within those walls.
Founded by the historian Antonio De Nino at the end of the 800 and subsequently enhanced, the Museum is located inside the Palazzo della SS.
Grotte di Stiffe is one of central Italy’s most famous karst cave. The entrance is located in the rocky side near San Demetrio Ne’ Vestini. The guided tour develops for 700 meters and a river runs through the which water comes from the many sinkholes located in the karst plateau of Rocca di Mezzo. Walking along the river you will find many small lakes, rapids and waterfall up to 20 meters high. The flow depends of the season and the underground landscapes changes continuously.
The trek is based on the mighty figure of the Majella massif that in the Amaro mountain has the second top of the Apennines. A place still mysterious today chosen in the past as a place of work for the shepherds, a refuge for brigands, places of meditation for anchorites who have built many hermitages on this mountain. Rough places but just for this fascinating. It starts from the natural reserve of Fara San Martino. It is characterized by extensive mountain pine formations, vast beech forests and spontaneous black pine cores.
Campotosto is situated 43 Km far from L'Aquila city on the northern shore of the Campotosto Lake. The village is situated on a slope at 1420 mt above sea level on the righte shore of the Fucino river. The village has been under the Amatrice jurisdiction until the 18. century and then it became part of the l'Aquila county. In 1388 the fight between L'Aquila and Amatrice due to border issues caused many damages to Campotosto. During the first half of the 16.