Founded in 1849 as an municipal archaeological museum of Vasto, it is the oldest museum in Abruzzo. Since 1998, is housed on the ground floor of Palazzo D'Avalos and presents a refined and modern exhibition. The museum preserves more than 1000 finds of exceptional value, coming from the city and from the surrounding territory, that testify the history of the ancient Histonium in an arc of more than three millennia. The exhibits are divided into 5 rooms referring to different historical phases, from the origins to the early Middle Ages.
The Archaeological Civic Museum of Collelongo, housed since 1985 in Palazzo Botticelli, preserves and exhibits numerous precious finds dating from the sixth century BC to the first century AD found in the Italic-Roman settlement of the nearby valley of Amplero, which consists of an acropolis, a village and two necropolises.
The MOM - Museum of the Marsican Bear - housed in a wing of the former convent of St. Anthony in the Municipality of Palena, consists of 5 sections set up with panels, dioramas and a striking reconstruction of the forest at night. The exhibition rooms describe the biological characteristics and life habits of the placid plantigrade, without neglecting mythology and history, and conclude with issues related to the risk of extinction and projects for the protection and preservation of the bear.
In the premises of the former Municipal Slaughterhouse of Avezzano was established the first Municipal Museum Pole of the city that currently includes: "The Words of Stone" and the Museum of the Drying of the Fucino "The Water Thread", first fundamental pieces of the extensive project of "The Hague of Museums" which represents an important cultural moment for the city of Marsica, with the contextual recovery and redevelopment of a disused area of its urban fabric.
Casalincontrada, a small town near the Majella National Park, has an extraordinary heritage of raw earth houses, rural houses built with the technique of the "Mason", a simple mixture of straw, water and earth. These houses, in addition to being precious testimonies of rural civilization, have attracted the attention of all those scholars and technicians in search of new and more natural building techniques. Thus the City has established this "Museum" unique in its kind, namely a permanent exhibition on the houses of Earth.
Built in the second half of the 19th century by the same famous cellist and composer Gaetano Braga (Giulianova,1829 - Milan,1907), it is used as a house-museum: there are several works of art (paintings, drawings, sculptures) by important artists on the figure and life of the musician, as well as letters, illustrations, documents, scores, the result of research conducted in Italy and abroad by the homonymous association located here. Visiting the house-museum, you can also listen to recordings and recordings of some compositions of Braga and other music of that period.
The "Federico Spoltore" Museum, recognized by the Abruzzo Region in 2001, documents the cultural and artistic experience of Federico Spoltore. To the furniture and art objects already owned by the Spoltore family, were added the most significant works of the painter who saw the light and worked within those walls.
Founded by the historian Antonio De Nino at the end of the 800 and subsequently enhanced, the Museum is located inside the Palazzo della SS.
Grotte di Stiffe is one of central Italy’s most famous karst cave. The entrance is located in the rocky side near San Demetrio Ne’ Vestini. The guided tour develops for 700 meters and a river runs through the which water comes from the many sinkholes located in the karst plateau of Rocca di Mezzo. Walking along the river you will find many small lakes, rapids and waterfall up to 20 meters high. The flow depends of the season and the underground landscapes changes continuously.