Skip to main content
x

Villavallelonga

Villavallelonga to m. 1005 meters above sea level, at Km 90 from L'Aquila, it is located in a picturesque position at the foot of Colle dei Cerri (1418 m), between a vast expanse of centuries-old woods. it is in the territory of the Abruzzo National Park and has very ancient origins. The present village, built around the year one thousand, was owned by the Counts of the Marsi and then passed to the Celano County in the fifteenth century. During the following centuries, it was disputed by several noble families, and then became a feud of the Pignatelli family in 1724. With the unification of Italy the woods of Vallelonga became a refuge for the numerous bands of brigands that raged in the Marsica and Valle Roveto. The drying up of Fucino resulted in the depreciation of almost all the lands of Vallelonga, so that the inhabitants had for decades, only in emigration a safety valve for survival. It is currently one of the most visited tourist centers of the Abruzzo National Park: nestled in a beautiful landscape of great beech and grasslands, with a rich and varied fauna, it is an excellent starting point for excursions and crossings in both summer and winter with various routes and trails for trekking and cross-country skiing. Wonderful views can be enjoyed going up the valley to the Sanctuary of the Madonna della Lanna, 1147 m, and to the Prati d'Angro. Interesting are the crossings from Villavallelonga to Gioia Vecchio for the Passo della Fontecchia and to Pescasseroli for the Fontana dell'Aceretta and the Rifugio di Jorio.

 

Provincia: L'Aquila

CAP: 67050

Prefisso: 0863

Altitudine: 1005

POSIZIONE GEOGRAFICA

41.8391833, 13.6710059

In the heart of Abruzzo, Lazio and Molise, in the beautiful village of Villavallelonga at 1005 meters above sea level, stands the Visitor Center of the Bear of Villavallelonga.

Nel cuore Nazionale D'Abruzzo Lazio e Molise, nello splendido borgo di Villavallelonga a 1005 metri d'altezza, sorge il Centro Visita dell'Orso di Villavallelonga. Struttura del Parco, gestita da aprile 2009 da Sherpa coop, il Centro visite nasce come struttura educativa ed informativa incentrata sulla figura del famoso plantigrado simbolo del Parco, l'Orso Bruno Marsicano.