Skip to main content


The village of Campli is located in the province of Teramo and is a real "treasure chest" kept in the heart of the Teramo hills. An enchanting city of art where history and culture, tradition and religious worship come together to create a unique mix. Inhabited since pre-Roman times, as testified by the necropolis found in nearby Campovalano, Campli knows its greatest splendor in the Middle Ages, when under the control of the Farnese became a meeting place for painters and artists from schools of masters such as Giotto and Raphael, to name but a few. Masterpieces that still embellish the main monuments of the historic center and neighboring countries, from the Cathedral of Santa Maria in Platea (fourteenth century) to the Church of St. Francis with adjoining convent (where the Archaeological Museum is housed), from the fifteenth century convent of San Bernardino to the Church dedicated to Our Lady of Mercy.Of great artistic and religious value is the Church of San Paolo with its nearby Scala Santa, so called since 1772 when it was customary to grant plenary indulgence to those who climbed on their knees and bent its twenty-eight steps in hard oak. To accompany the "penitents" in their "expiation" of sins, the fascinating symbols of six paintings, three on the right and three on the left of the staircase, which tell the most touching moments of the Passion of Christ. the historic center of Campli finally offers valuable examples of medieval and Renaissance civil architecture, starting from the House of the Doctor and that of the Pharmacist, up to the impressive Parliamentary Palace, then Farnese, with its characteristic three-light windows and its round arches that make up a beautiful porch.

INFO:   tel. 0861.56011


Provincia: Teramo

CAP: 64012

Prefisso: 0861

Altitudine: 396m


42.7273891, 13.6877892

Campli's National Archaeological Museum is situated in the ancient convent of Saint Francis (XIII century). It preserves and exhibits the finds from the prehistoric necropolis in the site of Campovalano. Made up of four sections, the material on display narrates the historical phases of the area, from the earliest settlement of the Picenians, dated to the XIV century B.C.

The sanctuary and the convent, built in 1466, stand on a hill in front of the village, a short distance from the road that leads to the center of Civitella. Their foundation is attributed to San Giacomo della Marca; their history is linked to that of the village, not only for religious and cultural aspects, but also for civil and military ones.